James Yang, Ph.D.

Professor, Ed and Linda Whitacre Faculty Fellow - ME
Texas Tech University


Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, University of Iowa, (2003)
M.S., Automobile Engineering, Jilin University, (1992)
B.S., Vehicle Engineering, Jilin University, (1989)


Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Phone:  806-834-6746
Fax:  806-742-3540


RESEARCH GROUP WEBSITE:  Human-Centric Engineering


  • Biomechanics and bio-inspired systems
  • Robotics and multibody dynamic systems
  • Human modeling and simulation
  • Spine biomechanics
  • Human-centric design
  • Healthcare engineering


  • Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas Tech University
  • Associate Professor 2014-2020, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas Tech University
  • Ed and Linda Whitacre Faculty Fellow 11/2016-present
  • Fulbright Scholar 08/2017-12/2017 University Center for Defence, Navy Academy/University of Vigo, Spain
  • Associate Chair, ME, Director of Undergraduate Studies 2015-2017
  • Visiting Professor 01/2017 University of Technology, Sydney
  • Assistant Professor 2008-2014 Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas Tech University
  • Visiting Professor 11/2012 Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Faculty Research Fellow Summer 2012 Air Force Research Lab, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton, Ohio
  • Visiting Professor 11/2009 Universitat Politecnica De Catalunya (UPC), Spain
  • Research Engineer and Adjunct Assistant Professor 2003-2008 Center for Computer-Aided Design, University of Iowa
  • Research Assistant 1999-2003 Center for Computer-Aided Design, University of Iowa
  • Assistant Professor 1992-1998 Department of Automobile Engineering, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Research Assistant 1989-1992 Department of Automobile Engineering, Jilin University, Jilin, China


  • Fellow of Institute for Inclusive Excellence at TTU 2018
  • Elected IEEE Senior Member 2018
  • Elected Fellow of The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 2018
  • ASME/CIE 2017 Panel on Smart and Connected Vehicles 2017
  • MTNA e-Journal Article of The Year, Music Teachers National Association 2017
  • Elected Fellow of The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) International 2016
  • ASME IDETC/CIE Advanced Modeling and Simulation Best Paper Award 2015
  • Chancellors’ Council Distinguished Research Award, TTU System 2012
  • Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award, Center for Undergraduate Research, TTU 2012
  • SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award 2012
  • TTU Alumni Association New Faculty Award 2011
  • Whitacre Excellence in Research Award, College of Engineering, TTU 2011
  • IIE/Joint Publishers Book-of-the-Year Award, Handbook of Military Industrial Engineering, (Chapter) 2010
  • The Prometheus Award (Top U.S. Government Technology Award) 2007
  • ASME Outstanding Paper Award 2004
  • SAE 2003 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award for best paper 2003